About Scottish Rite
About the Scottish Rite
The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly
known as the Scottish Rite. It is one of several appendant groups of the
worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. Each Valley has up to four
Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees. In the
Southern Jurisdiction these are the Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°), Chapter
of Rose Croix (15°–18°), Council of Kadosh (19°–30°), and the Consistory
(31°–32°). The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of
Sovereign Grand Inspector General.
Degrees of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite
Copyright © 2011 Hiram United Sovereign Grand Lodge.  All Rights Reserved.
"My People Shall Perish for the Lack of Knowledge"
A:.A:.S:.R:.F:.M:. of the World, Inc.
Summary of the1st Degree to the Consistory (32nd
1° Entered Apprentice. This degree begins a mans journey into freemasonry and represents youth.

2° Fellowcraft. This degree symbolizes man in adulthood and represents work.

3° Master Mason. This degree represents man in old age and relates to wisdom.
The Lodge of Perfection (4-14th)

5° Perfect Maser. This degree teaches that unworthy ambitions are corruptive and destructive to the man who forgets his
duty to family, country and God.

6° Intimate Secretary. This degree shows that a man who is trustworthy can survive false accusations.

7° Provost and Judge. This degree teaches that Truth prevails, and Justice triumphs, tempered with mercy and

8° Intendant of the Building. This degree symbolizes that the personal goal of title and position can cause strife.

9° Master Elect of Nine. This degree teaches that Truth often emerges from the clash of opinions, and to look at life and
duty and God through the minds of others who do not share the same religious faith.

10° Master Elect of Fifteen. This degree uses the symbolism of Solomon's life and that his pride prevented him from asking
for forgiveness.

11° Sublime Master Elected. This degree emphasizes virtue of good citizenship and that a man should ever be loyal, brave
and courageous in the conviction that right will eventually prevail.

12° Grand Master Architect. This degree teaches that the quality of Mercy through a spirit of compassion and a  
tenderness of heart will enable one to overlook injuries, or to treat the offender better than they deserve.

13° Master of the Ninth Arch. This degree portrays the history and legend of Enoch and prepares the candidate for the
14th degree.

14° Grand Elect Mason. This degree describes the constant endeavor of perfection of character.

15° Knight of the East or Sword. This degree shows the important lesson by the example of Zerubbabel, of loyalty to   
conviction, fidelity to duty, and devotion to Truth.

16° Prince of Jerusalem. This degree is a drama of the rewards found in the lessons of the 15 degree.

17° Knight of the East and West. This degree teaches that one should learn from, and avoid repeating, the errors of the

18° Knight of the Rose Croix of H.R.D.M.. In this degree, the principles of tolerance are affirmed and grants to each man
the right to answer, in his own way, his convictions.

19° Grand Pontiff. This degree proclaims the spiritual unity of all who believe in God and cherish the hope of immortality,
no matter what religious leader they follow or what creed they profess. It is concerned primarily with the perennial   
conflict between light and darkness, good and evil, God and Satan.

20° Master ad Vitam. This degree is a drama of the American spirit confronting the challenge of disloyalty and treason.
Masonic principles and leadership are subjected to a crucial test. The degree demonstrates the Masonic condemnation of
all who conspire against the security of the nation and the happiness of our people.

21° Patriarch Noachite. This degree teaches that Freemasonry is not a shield for evil doing and that justice is one of the
chief supports of our fraternity.

22° Prince of Libanus. In this degree, the dignity of labor is demonstrated. It is no curse, but a privilege, for man to be
allowed to earn his sustenance by work. Idleness, not labor, is disgraceful.

23° Chief of the Tabernacle. This degree teaches that those with faith in God and love for their fellow man will make great
sacrifices to help others.

24° Prince of the Tabernacle. This degree teaches that a mutual belief in a Supreme Power should bind all men together in
a world-wide brotherhood.

25° Knight of the Brazen Serpent. This degree teaches that there are desert stretches in every individual life in the history
of every nation, with a resultant breakdown of discipline and loss of faith. This degree is a clarion call to faith-in ourselves,
in each other, and in God.

26° Prince of Mercy. This degree teaches the quality of mercy; that it is a spirit of compassion and a tenderness of heart
which dispose us to overlook injuries and to treat an offender better than he deserves.

27° Commander of the Temple. This degree teaches that Scottish Rite Freemasonry believes in the concept of a free
church in a free state, each supreme in its own sphere, neither seeking to dominate the other, but cooperating for the
common good.

28° Knight of the Sun. This degree using the symbolism of the tools and implements of architecture teaches that by
building high moral character among its adherents, Freemasonry may advance man's determined quest for the
achievement of unity and good will throughout the world.

29° Knight of St. Andrew. This degree emphasizes the Masonic teachings of equality and toleration. We are reminded that
no one man, no one Church, no one religion, has a monopoly of truth; that while we must be true and faithful to our own
convictions, we must respect the opinions of others.

30° Grand Elect Knight Kadosh. This degree sets forth the tests and ceremonies that symbolize the experiences we must
undergo in the building of excellence in character.

31° Grand Inspector Inquisitor Commander. This degree teaches that we should give every man the benefit of innocence
and purity of intentions. He who would judge others must first judge himself.

32° Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret. This degree describes the victory of the spiritual over the human in man and the
conquest of appetites and passions by moral sense and reason. The exemplar represents every Freemason eager to serve
humanity but caught between self-interest and the call of duty. Duty often requires sacrifice, sometimes the supreme
Council of Kadosh (19th-30th)
Chapter of Rose Croix (15th-18th)
Consistory (31st-32nd)